Disclosure: LMS Advisor is built by the All-in-One LMS team. We score it with the same criteria as every other product on this page.
The best LMS for continuing education is one that tracks credits, not just completions. On our published rubric, Path LMS (now part of Momentive Software) scores highest for most CE providers and associations because it combines CE credit management, accreditor reporting through ACCME PARS, AMS integrations, member pricing and webinars. Absorb LMS and LearnUpon follow closely with strong multi-type credit tracking, and Oasis LMS stands out for publishing its prices.
Our own product, LMS Advisor, ranks eighth of nine. It issues, expires and renews certificates with public verification and records hours and attendance evidence, but it does not keep a credit ledger or report to accrediting bodies, which is the first thing most CE teams need. We say so plainly below.
This guide is for CE providers, associations and professional bodies running CE, CPD or CME programmes. Most "best LMS" lists rank corporate platforms on general features. We score nine platforms on the things a CE programme is audited on, using each vendor's own documentation checked in October 2026.
How we evaluated continuing education LMS platforms
We read each vendor's product pages, help centre articles and pricing pages in October 2026. This is a documentation review, not a hands-on test, and no vendor paid to be included. Where a vendor does not document a capability, we score it 1 (not documented) rather than assume it exists, so a low score can mean "ask in the demo" as much as "missing".
Each platform is scored from 1 to 5 on eight criteria. The weighted score is the weight multiplied by the score and divided by 5, so the maximum is 100.
| Criterion | Weight | What we looked for |
|---|---|---|
| CE credit tracking | 25 | Credit hours per course, multiple credit types, external credits, transcripts and reporting to accreditors |
| Certificates, expiry and verification | 20 | Automatic certificates, expiry dates, renewal or recertification, reminders and public verification |
| Member data and AMS integration | 15 | Named association management system integrations, member sync and SSO |
| Selling and member pricing | 10 | Built-in ecommerce, member and non-member prices, coupons and bundles |
| Live events and attendance evidence | 10 | Webinar integrations, attendance capture and evaluations |
| Content standards | 5 | SCORM, xAPI and related standards |
| Price transparency | 5 | A published price, or at least published minimums or a free trial |
| Deployment and data control | 10 | Cloud only, or the option to run it on your own servers |
Best LMS for continuing education: comparison table
| Rank and platform | Score /100 | Best for | Deployment | Starting price (as of October 2026) | Standout | Limitation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Path LMS (Momentive) | 82 | Associations with an AMS and a busy webinar calendar | Cloud | Quote only; free trial on request | CE credits, ACCME PARS, built-in cart with member pricing | Certificate expiry not documented on its pages |
| 2. Absorb LMS | 73 | CE providers with several credit types and renewal cycles | Cloud | Quote only | Multiple credit types with variable rules; automatic recertification | No AMS named |
| 3. LearnUpon | 73 | Associations that accept external CPD records | Cloud | Quote; associations from 150 users | Custom credit types plus learner-submitted external credits with approval | Certificate expiry not stated on the pages we read |
| 4. Oasis LMS | 72 | Associations that want a published price and many AMS connectors | Cloud | $1,000 a month for up to 1,000 annual users | Partial credit in 0.25 increments; PARS and CPE Monitor | SCORM and live events not stated on the pages we read |
| 5. Forj Learn | 70 | Multi-state, multi-profession CE | Cloud | Quote only | CE tracking across states and professions | No AMS named; xAPI not mentioned |
| 6. Docebo | 70 | Large associations and extended-enterprise programmes | Cloud | Custom; typically 250+ learners | Certification and retraining with expiry; iMIS and Association Anywhere | Single credits field documented; multi-year contracts are common |
| 7. EthosCE (Cadmium) | 68 | Healthcare CME and CE providers | Hosted | Quote or RFP | ACCME, JA PARS, CE Broker and CPE Monitor; MOC reporting | Healthcare focus; SCORM not on product pages |
| 8. LMS Advisor (our product) | 68 | Providers that need self-hosting, proctored exams and verifiable expiring certificates | Cloud or self-hosted | Quote-based; free trial, no card | Expiring certificates with public verification and renewal on the same ID | No credit ledger or accreditor reporting; PWA; selling through WooCommerce |
| 9. Moodle Workplace | 54 | Teams already on Moodle that need certifications | Through Moodle partners | Quote through partners | Recertification programs; certificates verifiable by code, link or QR | No native credit-hour tracking |
The score breakdown shows where each platform wins and loses points.
| Platform | Credits (25) | Certificates (20) | AMS (15) | Selling (10) | Live (10) | Standards (5) | Price (5) | Deployment (10) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Path LMS | 25 | 12 | 15 | 10 | 10 | 5 | 1 | 4 | 82 |
| Absorb LMS | 25 | 16 | 6 | 8 | 8 | 5 | 1 | 4 | 73 |
| LearnUpon | 25 | 12 | 9 | 8 | 8 | 5 | 2 | 4 | 73 |
| Oasis LMS | 25 | 12 | 15 | 8 | 2 | 1 | 5 | 4 | 72 |
| Forj Learn | 25 | 12 | 9 | 8 | 8 | 3 | 1 | 4 | 70 |
| Docebo | 15 | 16 | 12 | 8 | 8 | 5 | 2 | 4 | 70 |
| EthosCE | 25 | 12 | 6 | 8 | 10 | 2 | 1 | 4 | 68 |
| LMS Advisor | 10 | 20 | 9 | 4 | 8 | 5 | 2 | 10 | 68 |
| Moodle Workplace | 5 | 20 | 6 | 2 | 8 | 3 | 2 | 8 | 54 |
Ties are broken by the credit-tracking score, then by certificates. For a broader shortlist outside CE, see our guide to the best LMS platforms.
1. Path LMS: 82/100
Path LMS was built by Blue Sky eLearn, which Momentive Software (formerly Community Brands) acquired in February 2025. It is a cloud LMS for associations and professional education. Blue Sky says it can manage any number of CE credits and completion requirements, and it integrates with ACCME PARS for CME reporting. Momentive describes it as automating credit assignment, certificate generation and compliance reporting.
- Pros: a built-in shopping cart with coupons and member group pricing; AMS sync named for iMIS, Fonteva, Impexium, Nimble AMS, YourMembership and NetForum; webinar integrations with Zoom, GoToWebinar and Adobe Connect; SCORM and xAPI support; drag-and-drop certificates and automatic digital badges.
- Cons: certificate expiry and public verification are not described on the pages we read, so test renewal cycles in a demo.
- Pricing note: quote only as of October 2026; a free trial can be requested.
Momentive also owns Freestone and Crowd Wisdom, but its products page lists Path LMS as its learning management product. If you run one of the other two, ask Momentive about its roadmap before you renew.
2. Absorb LMS: 73/100
Absorb has the most detailed credit documentation in this list. Admins create several credit types, set a base credit amount per course with decimals, and add variable credit rules that award different amounts by learner attribute, with a credits report. Certificates can expire after a set period or on a fixed date, and re-enrollment and recertification can run automatically once a certificate has an expiry date.
- Pros: multiple credit types and rules; automatic recertification; ecommerce with bundles, subscriptions, segment pricing and over 70 payment gateways; SCORM, AICC and xAPI; Zoom, Teams and Webex integrations.
- Cons: no association management system is named, only Salesforce; no public certificate verification documented.
- Pricing note: quote only through a pricing form with learner bands.
3. LearnUpon: 73/100
LearnUpon's association features let you set up credits for CPD, CEU, CME or any other scheme, with several custom credit types and a value per course. Learners can add external credits with an expiry date and evidence for admin approval, which suits professional bodies whose members learn outside the platform. Each course can carry a default price and a different price per membership type.
- Pros: external training records with approval; membership pricing; SCORM and xAPI; a Zoom connector and live learning.
- Cons: AMS provisioning is described but no AMS is named; certificate expiry and verification were not stated on the pages we read.
- Pricing note: quote only; LearnUpon for Associations starts from 150 users as of October 2026.
4. Oasis LMS: 72/100
Oasis LMS, from 360Factor, is built for associations and is the only platform here with full published pricing. As of October 2026, Standard costs $1,000 a month for up to 1,000 annual users and Professional $2,000 a month for up to 3,000, with hosting, SSO, support, ecommerce and implementation included. Native mobile apps are an add-on at $1,500 a month per app.
- Pros: partial credit claiming in 0.25 increments; PARS and CPE Monitor reporting; automated certificates and transcripts; more than 17 named AMS integrations, including iMIS, Personify, Nimble AMS, NetForum, Fonteva and YourMembership; member and non-member pricing.
- Cons: SCORM, live event tools and certificate expiry were not stated on the pages we read.
- Pricing note: annual-user pricing is easy to budget, but check how "annual users" is counted.
5 to 7. Forj Learn, Docebo and EthosCE
5. Forj Learn: 70/100
Web Courseworks' CourseStage is now Forj Learn, after Forj and Web Courseworks merged in 2023. It tracks CE credits, hours and requirements, including across different states and professions, with automated or manual certificates and digital transcripts. It offers tiered member and non-member pricing with Stripe, embedded SCORM, live webinars, SSO and an open API. No AMS is named and xAPI is not mentioned. Quote only.
6. Docebo: 70/100
Docebo is a large SaaS platform with a member-training offer. Each course has a credits (CEUs) field, and its Certification and Retraining app adds expiry rules, renewal by retaking content or approved external training, and expiry notifications. It names Salesforce, Microsoft Dynamics, iMIS and Association Anywhere, sells memberships and certifications through built-in ecommerce, and supports SCORM, AICC, xAPI and LTI. We found one credits field rather than multiple credit types. Pricing is custom; Docebo says it typically suits 250 or more learners, with a one-year minimum and most customers on three to five year contracts.
7. EthosCE (Cadmium): 68/100
EthosCE is Cadmium's healthcare learning system. It integrates with ACCME, JA PARS, CE Broker and CPE Monitor, supports an array of credit types and MOC reporting for several specialty boards, and handles live events and regularly scheduled series such as grand rounds. It sets pricing by member type with discounts and subscriptions. It is the specialist choice for CME, but it names no AMS and SCORM is not on its product pages. Quote or RFP only.
8 and 9. Self-hosted and certificate-first options: LMS Advisor and Moodle Workplace
8. LMS Advisor: 68/100 (our product)
LMS Advisor, our self-hosted LMS, scores top marks for certificates and deployment, and loses most of its points on credit tracking. Its member-training page states that it does not keep a separate credit ledger or submit records to accrediting bodies. What it does is capture the evidence accreditors ask for: each course carries a duration in hours that prints on the certificate, completion rules define what "finished" means, lessons can require a minimum time, a mandatory evaluation can appear at 100 percent before the certificate, and live sessions record QR check-in with a late status. Most teams export completions, certificates and evaluations each cycle into their own credit tracking.
- Pros: certificates with a validity period, an "expiring soon" status, reminder emails and renewal that keeps the same certificate ID and public verification link; native proctored exams for certification; SCORM 1.2 and 2004, xAPI with a built-in LRS, cmi5 and LTI 1.3; SAML SSO and SCIM; cloud or self-hosted on PHP 8.1 or later and MySQL.
- Cons: no credit ledger or accreditor reporting; no named AMS integration, so members sign in through SAML or self-register with a member number; it is a PWA rather than a native app; and it is not a course-selling storefront, because checkout and member pricing run through WooCommerce.
- Pricing note: quote-based, with a free trial and no credit card. See how LMS Advisor handles this on its member-training page.
9. Moodle Workplace: 54/100
Moodle Workplace, sold only through Moodle Certified Partners and Service Providers, adds certifications built on programs. Initial certification can expire on a fixed date or relative to completion, and recertification can use the same or a different program. Its certificate manager supports verification by code, link or QR code, even on sites with forced login. Neither Moodle LMS nor Workplace documents native credit-hour tracking, so CE programmes usually add a plugin or custom development. Pricing is set by the partner.
How to choose an LMS for continuing education
Know what unit you are tracking
CE, CPD and CME use different units. IACET defines one Continuing Education Unit as ten contact hours of participation in an organised learning experience under responsible sponsorship and qualified instruction. In the UK, the CPD Certification Service describes CPD points as typically a 1:1 ratio with CPD hours, and most professional bodies set annual targets. Medical CME often has to be reported to an accreditor such as ACCME. Write down your units, credit types and reporting obligations before you look at demos.
Questions to ask every vendor
- Can one course award several credit types, and partial credit?
- Can members record external CE with evidence, and who approves it?
- Does the platform report directly to our accreditor, or do we export files?
- How do certificate expiry, renewal and reminders work, and can anyone verify a certificate without logging in?
- Which AMS do you integrate with today, in production, and what syncs: members, prices, completions?
- Can we charge members and non-members different prices without extra plugins?
- What does an auditor see: transcripts, attendance logs, evaluation responses?
Match the platform to your model
- Association with an AMS and webinars: start with Path LMS, Oasis LMS or LearnUpon.
- Several credit types and strict renewal cycles: look at Absorb.
- Healthcare CME: shortlist EthosCE.
- Self-hosting, proctored certification exams or verifiable expiring certificates, with credits tracked elsewhere: consider LMS Advisor or Moodle Workplace.
If you also train lawyers, our guide to the best LMS for law firms covers CLE tracking, and training businesses that sell to client organisations should see the best LMS for training companies.
How we can help
We help CE providers and associations choose, connect and extend their LMS, including AMS integrations, SSO and custom credit tracking where a platform falls short. Not sure which fits? Our LMS consulting team can run a short requirements and shortlist exercise with you. Ask an LMS engineer about your programme.
Frequently asked questions
What is a continuing education LMS?
It is a learning management system that tracks the credits professionals earn, such as CEUs, CPD hours or CME credits, alongside course delivery. Good ones issue certificates, manage expiry and renewal, and produce the records an accreditor or licensing board asks for.
What is the difference between CE and CPD?
CE (continuing education) is the term common in North America, often measured in CEUs, where IACET defines one CEU as ten contact hours. CPD (continuing professional development) is the term used in the UK and elsewhere, usually counted in hours or points set by each professional body.
Can Moodle track CE credits?
Moodle can issue certificates with expiry, and Moodle Workplace adds certifications with recertification. Neither documents native credit-hour tracking, so CE providers usually add a plugin or custom development for credit types and transcripts.
How much does a continuing education LMS cost?
Most CE-focused platforms quote only. Oasis LMS publishes $1,000 a month for up to 1,000 annual users as of October 2026, and LearnUpon's association plan starts from 150 users. Budget for AMS integration and setup on top of the licence.
Free 30-minute consultation
Not sure where to start? Talk to an LMS engineer.
Tell us what platform you run and what you need. You’ll get honest, practical advice - even if the answer is that you don’t need us.
Sources & references
- Path LMS - Blue Sky eLearn
- Momentive Software acquires Blue Sky eLearn - Momentive Software
- Course Credits - Absorb Software
- Re-Enrollment and Re-Certification - Absorb Software
- Associations: set up learning credits for members - LearnUpon
- LearnUpon pricing - LearnUpon
- Oasis LMS pricing - Oasis LMS
- Association LMS - Oasis LMS
- Forj Learn LMS - Forj
- Certificates and certifications - Docebo
- Docebo for member training - Docebo
- Docebo pricing - Docebo
- EthosCE platform - Cadmium
- Certifications configuration (Moodle Workplace) - Moodle Docs
- Certificate manager (tool_certificate) - Moodle
- LMS Advisor for member training - LMS Advisor
- LMS Advisor pricing - LMS Advisor
- About the CEU - IACET
- CPD explained - The CPD Certification Service
Learn more about this topic with AI
Gemini opens with the prompt copied - paste it into the chat to start.